World Premiere Performance
November 2, 2023

I Will Tell You The Truth About This, I Will Tell You All About It is a ten-poem sequence by former United States Poet Laureate Tracy K. Smith that describes in vivid details the lives of African American soldiers and their families during the Civil War.

Join me for the world premiere of this oratorio which I wrote the music for on Nov. 2, 2023 at Merkin Hall at Kaufman Music Center.

Tracy K. Smith, Poet
–Pala Garcia, Violin; John Popham, Cello; Julia Den Boer, Piano
Michele Kennedy, Soprano
Veronica Chapman-Smith, Soprano
Guadalupe Peraza, Mezzo-Soprano
AnnMarie Sandy, Mezzo-Soprano
Gregorio Taniguchi, Tenor
Andrew Fuchs, Tenor
Dana Whiteside, Baritone
Wayne Arthur, Baritone